the future of my blog

Right now all I know how to do is type in words. I’ve also figured out “b”, “i”, “b-quote”, “del”, “look-up”. None of these show me how to drop in a picture of the Million Word Crossword Dictionary, or photos of my grandchildren and my shop and my cats, etc. But I will learn. I have been given numerous technological challenges for the building of character and an understanding of my need of others. This is very good. In my shop, over the short period of two and a half years I have learned to take in stride the eccentricities of four sewing machines and various ironing devices. Five years ago I was utterly computer phobic, which is a condition that often occurs in conjunction with math phobia. Many years ago I deliberately set about overcoming math phobia by adding columns of figures and even doing long division with a pencil instead of a calculator, or in my head when possible. This forced me to keep a very simple lifestyle which has its good points. Thoreau said something like, “Keep your accounts on your thumbnail.” I thought this was excellent advice and tried to follow it, until, in December 2002, I was catapulted into the school of compulsory computer literacy, when I was delegated, as on a silver platter, the task of managing an on-line and mail order store, which included annual inventory and doing the daily ledger for the accountant. Now I own and manage a business, and keep all my accounts in Quick Books. So why should I fear? No phobia here, just ignorance with a firm resolve. (Note to Tia and David: Is this Living Deliberately?)

4 Responses to “the future of my blog”


  1. 1 Demetrius January 23, 2007 at 4:10 am

    It’s better to fear things than people, I guess. At least you can know in your head and your heart that you’re being unreasonable.

    I’ll help as I can.

  2. 2 Tia January 23, 2007 at 7:34 am

    You bet it is!! Although I am extremely math phobic as well and resist the idea that math and computers are somehow related. Absurd I know but such is the inner workings of parts of my brain….

  3. 3 Mary January 23, 2007 at 11:25 am

    Seems to be that if you have “b” and “i” down for the blog, you are already an expert! I tried italic and bold on one of my blogs this morning, but only the bold took. I’m learning too.

  4. 4 Beth January 24, 2007 at 10:11 am

    I think that learning completely new things is very ‘stretching’ and keeps us young… and enlarges the world for us too! It is like learning a new language or how to use a new tool. And it is really true that learning how to use internet tools is best done with other people – I wouldn’t know anything about them at all if it weren’t for helpful friends.


Leave a Reply

